NCWC Pearsall Library NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours

English

The subject guide to English provides information on resources available from Pearsall Library, both in the library and online. The subject guide covers subject headings, reference sources, books, article databases, Websites, and style guides.

What kind of information do you need?

Books - Use Reference Books to learn background info about your topic
Search for books in the online library catalog. One helpful way of searching for materials is to search by Subject.

Articles - Use articles to find current events and advances in your research topic.

Articles can be found in Electronic or Print formats:

Electronic: Search for English literature articles in databases Print: List of print periodicals in the library (PDF)

*Off-Campus users must authenticate via EZProxy. Click here for more information and troubleshooting tips.

Key Websites
  • Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
  • Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature - WESS
  • Comparative Literature - intute: arts & humanities
  • American Comparative Literature Association
    Is the principal learned society in the United States for scholars whose work involves several literatures and cultures as well as the premises of cross-cultural literary study itself. This site mostly offers an opportunity to explore what is happening professionally in this field.

    American Verse Project
    From the University Of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative and the University of Michigan Press. A searchable archive of mostly pre-1920 American poetry.

    BBC Audio Interviews
    Hear interviews with poets (ranging from Maya Angelou to William Butler Yeats) and writers (ranging from Chinua Achebe to Virginia Woolf)

    British Women Romantic Poets, 1789 --1832.
    An electronic collection of texts from the Shields Library, University of California at Davis. Includes poetry by British and Irish women written (but not necessarily published) between 1789 and 1832.

    A Celebration of Women Writers
    An exhaustive (or exhausting!) list of women writers, from classic to trashy. Searchable by author's name, century, country, or ethnicity. The information/links vary in quality.

    Department of English Links
    By John Lye, Brock Univesity. A good selection of Web sites, including genre collections and creative writing.

    Middle English Compendium
    Access to three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

    Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
    Maintained by Terry Gray at Palomar College. Includes works, criticism, theater, life and times, etc.

    Ploughshares
    The literary journal at Emerson College. Over 2,750 poems, stories, and articles from the current issue and the archives may be read for free. Also, a multitude of Web-only information about many of the 2,000-plus authors: bios, news, events, even blurbs about their favorite books.

    The Poetry Archive.
    Provides links to poets reading their own works. The president of the Poetry Archive is Seamus Heaney

    thepoetryfoundation.org
    Home of Poetry magazine, this is an enormous resource for all things poetry.

    poets.org
    The Academy of American Poets' Web site.

    Romanticism on the Net
    Is an international refereed electronic journal devoted to British Romantic studies.

    Shakespeare in Quarto
    On this site you will find the British Library’s 93 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the theatres were closed in 1642.

    Victorian Web
    The "authors section" of this site is maintained by George P. Landow from the National University of Singapore and Brown University. Excellent overview of an author in Victorian times, including political, religious, and social contexts.

    Victorian Women Writers Project
    The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.

    Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
    By Alan Liu, UC Santa Barbara. An excellent, comprehensive Web site for all periods of English and American literature, with links to specific author pages, listservs and newsgroups, teaching resources, syllabi, and conferences.

    Wired for Books
    From the Ohio University Telecommunications Center. Includes audio interviews by Don Swaim of CBS radio of many famous writers from the popular to the poetic. There are also clips of modern writers reading their work.

    WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies: Literature and Culture Web Sites
    A high-quality list of Web sites maintained by Marlene Manoff at MIT.

Citing Sources for Education

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350