|
Article Research Databases
|
 |
|
|
*off-campus users must log into article databases via
EZ Proxy |
|
|
|
Features 750 biographies of notable historic and current figures from around the world. Entries focus on the people most often studied in middle and high school. Highlights include photos and illustrations; a chronology; a glossary; sidebars covering facts of interest; and indexes by nationality, ethnicity, occupation, and general terms.
|
 |
African American Almanac, 2003
The African American Almanac provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture in 28 topical chapters (e.g., African American Firsts, Politics, Family & Health). It also includes a chronology, a chapter of important primary documents, directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a filmography, hundreds of brief biographies, and more than 650 photographs, illustrations, maps, and statistical charts located within the most appropriate text. |
|
African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: Contains important poems from the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
NCWC Librarians Say: A large number of
relatively rare full-text poems can be found here. |
|
American Slavery via Greenwood
Description: A "composite
autobiography," this is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
NCWC Librarians Say: The
institution from the perspective of the people it affected
most. A great window into our troubled past. |
|
Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers via Greenwood
Description: The documents here provide in-depth analysis of current, best-selling fiction
and fiction authors.
NCWC Librarians Say: A good resource
for studying people like Mary Higgins Clark, Stephen King, and
even more literary types like Julia Alvarez. |
 |
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 2v, 2004
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more. |
 |
North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press
Description:
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women from Colonial times to 1950.NCWC Librarians Say: These can
be browsed by historical period, by historical event, and by
country. Unique primary documents are here, and are
wonderful for finding the perspectives of women as events
unfolded in history.
|
 |
NoveList via EBSCO NoveList
Description: A readers' advisory service that is searchable by author, title, series name, and plot (including character, topic, time period, and setting) to retrieve descriptions, reviews, discussion guides, and feature articles related to
primarily fiction books of interest.
NCWC Librarians Say: If you enjoy reading
books by a specific author, or about a specific topic, try
NoveList to find "read-alike" books or other things you might
like to read. A bookaholic's dream come true.
Back to Top |
 |
|
Biographical Book Sources
|
 |
|
Click
here for a Printable PDF list of biographical book sources at
Pearsall Library |
Search for books in the
online library catalog. One helpful way of searching for
biographical materials is to search by Subject. Below are
some helpful subject terms you may use to locate
biographical book sources.
|
|
|
Use subject terms to search for a general subject |
|
Biography--Dictionaries--Bibliography |
| Biography--Dictionaries |
| Biography--Bible |
|
Biography--20th
century |
| Biography--19th century
|
| Biography--18th century
|
| Biography--17th century
|
| Biography--11th century
|
Back to Top
Websites containing Biographical Info
Biography (A&E)
http://www.biography.com/search/.
Searchable collection of 20,000 biographical entries from the
Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia. This site from the A&E Television
Network also has excerpts from best selling biographies, quiz and
anagram games, and schedules of future episodes of the biography
television program.
InfoPlease.com - Biography
http://www.infoplease.com/people.html.
Part of the large Infoplease.com site, this
boasts over 30,000
biographies of historical and contemporary figures. Search by
name or one of the categories (sports, presidents, vice presidents,
entertainment, people in the news, business leaders, world leaders,
and deaths in the current and previous years). Information varies
from minimal to detailed.
Biographical Dictionary
http://www.s9.com/biography.
Biographical information on over 28,000 people from ancient times to
the present day.
|