NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Sociology Databases

Criminal Justice Periodicals via ProQuest
Description:  A collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information on law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.  The database includes summaries and citations for over 230 journals, with more than 75 available in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The comprehensive database for criminal justice.  Start your justice studies research here!

 

PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
Description:  The American Psychological Association produces this database of nearly 50 full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  All full-text articles here, but not a huge number of journals.  PsycINFO (below) is certainly a larger resource, but you'll want to search both of these.

 

PsycINFO via EBSCO
Description:  From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed scholarly material. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education, physiology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PsycINFO does not contain a huge percentage of full-text material.  Remember to "Check JournalFinder for full text availability."

 

NCLIVE
CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press
Description: CQ Researcher offers balanced overviews of contemporary political and social issues.  Each report includes background information, both sides of the debate surrounding the issue, and suggested resources to consult for further information.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Writing about or researching a very current issue?  Want to see how you feel about a current political debate?  CQ Researcher is your place.  A tremendous place to educate yourself about contemporary issues.

NCLIVE

More information relevant to sociology may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases

 

 

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350