NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
Description:  The American Psychological Association produces this database of nearly 50 full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  All full-text articles here, but not a huge number of journals.  PsycINFO (below) is certainly a larger resource, but you'll want to search both of these.

 

PsycINFO via EBSCO
Description:  From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed scholarly material. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education, physiology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PsycINFO does not contain a huge percentage of full-text material.  Remember to "Check JournalFinder for full text availability."

 

NCLIVE
OAIster via OCLC
Description:  From the University of Michigan and cataloging giants OCLC comes OAIster, a new gigantic catalog of digitally-published material from open-access digital archives.  Scientists and researchers more than ever are publishing online instead of in journals; OAIster provides access to 20 million electronically-published sources and counting. 

NCWC Librarians Say: A large majority  of this information is scholarly and comes from very good sources.  Almost all of it is very scholarly.  A great source that will provide tons of information on various scientific and research topics from the research community.

 

NCLIVE

Other psychology information may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350