NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Newspaper Databases

America's Newspapers via Newsbank
Description:  America's Newspapers features the full-text content of over 600 U.S. newspapers, with more than 290 titles available exclusively from NewsBank, each the complete electronic edition of record.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The best resource we have for news from across the country, including the Raleigh News & Observer and some selected major regional and national papers.

 

NCLIVE

The New York Times (Historical) via ProQuest
Description:  The complete historical text of the New York Times is available here.  Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue covering from 1851 - 1999.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Times has been America's newspaper of record since before the Civil War.  Find contemporary coverage of historical events, book reviews, and information about older news topics here.

 

The New York Times (Since 1980) via ProQuest
Description:  Text of the recent editions of the New York Times is available here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Times has been America's leading newspaper of record since before the Civil War.  Find contemporary coverage of historical events, book reviews, and recent news here.

 

 

Newspaper Source via EBSCOhost
Description:  Provides summaries and citations from 1995 to present for national newspapers and selected full text from major papers and the Raleigh News & Observer.

NCWC Librarians say:  Use America's Newspapers before you check here, but Newspaper Source has a fairly large database of news articles that you might not be able to find in other resources NCWC has.

 

NCLIVE

ProQuest Newspapers via ProQuest
Description:  Full text and selected coverage of nationwide, regional and North Carolina newspapers.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Use America's Newspapers before you check here, but ProQuest Newspapers is the largest database of news articles that NCWC has.

 

NCLIVE

The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Description:  The financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.  NCWC offers coverage from 1984-present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Wall Street Journal, pure and simple.

NCLIVE

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350