Literature Databases
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO
Description: MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
NCWC Librarians Say: The flagship
database for English and Literature studies. Because
book citations are included alongside articles, take a look at
the "Publication Type" box on the first page to limit your
search. |
|
Literature Resource Center via Gale Group
Description: The Literature Resource Center is built on Thomson Gale's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is
a resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
NCWC Librarians Say: If you're
looking for information about authors in a large number
of fields, or literary criticism, this is a key
database.
|
|
JSTOR
Description: JSTOR contains
the complete text of selected scholarly journals, going
back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers access
to the Arts & Sciences I collection, as well as the
Biological Sciences collection, including major journals in fields such as
economics, history, literature, political science, sociology, and
biology.NCWC Librarians Say:
JSTOR provides unique, exhaustive historical coverage of
some very important journals, and all articles are in
full-text. Wonderful if you're researching a topic
that's been important for many years.
Check out
JSTOR's Tutorials on YouTube:
How
to Search and
How
to Browse
(Audio required!)
|
|
African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: Contains important poems from the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
NCWC Librarians Say: A large number of
relatively rare full-text poems can be found here. |
|
American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: Contains the text of
over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
NCWC Librarians Say: A huge number of
poems from major and not-so-major authors can be found here. |
|
Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers via Greenwood
Description: The documents here provide in-depth analysis of current, best-selling fiction
and fiction authors.
NCWC Librarians Say: A unique resource
for studying people like Mary Higgins Clark, Stephen King, and
even more literary types like Julia Alvarez. |
|
English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: Full text of the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
NCWC Librarians Say: Almost one-stop
shopping for the huge body of literature that is pre-1900
English poetry. |
|
Faber Poetry Library via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
NCWC Librarians Say: For more recent
poetry, this is a great source for poem texts. |
|
Literature in Context via Greenwood
Description: A rich collection of
primary source material, collateral readings, and
commentary that helps students understand the
historical, social, and cultural context associated
with major literary works.
NCWC Librarians Say: A resource that puts
certain major canonical works (Huck Finn, Lord of the Flies,
Hamlet) in their social context. |
|
MLA Directory of Periodicals via EBSCO
Description:
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
NCWC Librarians Say: The Directory
contains information about journals, not the texts of these
journals; useful more to librarians and faculty than to most
students. |
|
netLibrary via netLibrary
Description: A database of eBooks, netLibrary provides easy access to the full text of more than 22,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.
These e-books are also individually linked from the NCWC
catalog. NCWC
Librarians Say: A huge variety of electronic books are
here in full text. You can also find these by searching
the catalog, so try that first. |
 |
NoveList via EBSCO
Description: A readers' advisory service that is searchable by author, title, series name, and plot (including character, topic, time period, and setting) to retrieve descriptions, reviews, discussion guides, and feature articles related to
primarily fiction books of interest.
NCWC Librarians Say: If you enjoy reading
books by a specific author, or about a specific topic, try
NoveList to find "read-alike" books or other things you might
like to read. A bookaholic's dream come true. |
 |
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: A database of modern and contemporary
African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by
62 of the most important African American poets of the
last century.
NCWC Librarians Say: The famous Harlem Renaissance
poets, and others, all have works in full text here. |
 |
Twentieth Century American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: A database of 36,000 modern and contemporary American poems from the early twentieth century to the present.
NCWC Librarians Say: Full-text poems from
twentieth-century America are here. |
 |
Twentieth-Century English Poetry
via Chadwyck-Healey
Description: Containing tens of
thousands of works by 288 poets, Twentieth-Century
English Poetry provides an overview of poetry written
in the 20th century by both established and emerging
writers.
NCWC Librarians Say:
Full-text poems from the twentieth century are here.
|
|
Uncle Tom’s Cabin & American Culture
Description: The site allows users to browse through
such materials as editorials from the period that respond to
the book Uncle Tom's Cabin, along with information about how
the book has been transformed into a children’s book and
various plays. Beyond this helpful information, visitors can
also look at the covers of different editions of Uncle Tom’s
Cabin through the years, including one that was published in
Yiddish in 1911.NCWC Librarians Say:
If you're interested in Uncle Tom's Cabin, definitely worth a
look.
Other Literature information may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases
|
 |
|
|