Biology and Life Sciences Databases
JSTOR
Biological Sciences
Description: JSTOR
contains the complete text of selected scholarly journals,
going back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers
access to the Biological Sciences collection, including
complete runs of some major journals in biology.
NCWC Librarians Say: When BioOne doesn't
go back far enough, it's a good bet that many of the older articles
you need are in JSTOR. It's also a great source for many of the most important historical
articles in the biological sciences.
Check out JSTOR's Tutorials on YouTube:
How to
Search and
How to
Browse
(Audio required!)
|
|
BioOne
Description: BioOne contains
eighty major journals in the field of biological
sciences, most of which have large backfiles in full
text. NCWC
Librarians Say: A wonderful resource for finding
articles in the biological sciences, including a large number
of very important journals and highly-regarded periodicals. |
|
Aluka
Description: Aluka is a digital library
for African studies, which contains documents, pictures, and
other items all in a digital repository for your use. Of
particular relevance to biology is the African Plants content
area, with huge numbers of specimens, reference sources, and
other research related to African botany.
NCWC Librarians Say: Try Aluka for anything related to
Africa; unique resources, images, and documents are always
growing. |
|
PubMed via NLM
Description:
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
NCWC Librarians Say: PubMed is the
largest and most extensive database of medical citations, a
fair percentage of which are available in full text.
When full text isn't available, use the
Find Journals by
Title portion of the NCWC library homepage to check for
full text. |
|
CINAHL via EBSCOhost
Description: CINAHL is the most complete and best-known
database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences
librarianship, consumer health, and allied health fields.
NCWC Librarians Say: If you're working on
a topic at the intersection of social science and health, such
as epidemiology or the provision of medical care, CINAHL is
essential. |
|
arXiv
The "premier
electronic source for most streams of research in physics,
mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and
quantitative biology." ArXiv currently has access to
over 500,000 scientific papers, articles, chapters, and
conference presentations in these quantitative sciences.
NCWC Librarians Say: Though it's available through the
open web, this works much like any of your favorite
databases. A great resource for any of the sciences
that have much to do with numbers. |
|
AGRICOLA
Description: A bibliographic database of
citations to articles and books created by the
National Agricultural Library. The database is
extensive and stretches back to the 1400s.
NCWC Librarians Say: Helpful for
agricultural research, but you need to check other databases
and the library catalog to see if the citations here are
available in full text. |
|
Health Source: Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost
Description: Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
NCWC Librarians Say: The Consumer
Edition, as opposed to the Nursing/Academic edition, is much
more focused on articles that are relevant to consumers or
basic members of the population. Good for quickly
familiarizing yourself with certain issues. |
|
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost
Description: Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals.
NCWC Librarians Say: Use this for finding
scholarly resources in the medical fields, especially when
compared with the Consumer Edition. Combined with CINAHL,
these represent the best full-text article databases for
health topics. |
 |
MEDLINEplus via NLM
Description:
MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 600 diseases and conditions.
It also includes a News section, a medical encyclopedia,
and information about medications.
NCWC Librarians Say: A very helpful
reference site for any of the topics in the above description.
MEDLINE even contains journal articles, but these must be
found by first looking up the condition or topic and using the
menus. |
|
TOXNET via NLM
Description: An integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases organized by the National Library of Medicine.
NCWC Librarians Say: Anything related to
environmental hazards, biohazards, and other issues related to
toxins can be searched from here. These databases tend
to contain technical information and specifications over
analysis. |
|
Wiley InterScience via North
Carolina Consortium
Description: The InterScience
database contains full text for over 2,500 academic
journals, books, and reference works. Disciplines
covered well include business, chemistry, computer science,
education, life sciences, and social sciences.
NCWC Librarians Say:
Almost all of the content on Wiley is unique to Wiley,
and much of it is very useful. The fact that books
are lined up alongside journal articles makes Wiley
quite helpful, particularly for science-related topics.
|
|
Digital Photobiology Compendium
Description: A free online textbook developed by the American Society for Photobiology.
NCWC Librarians Say:
An introduction to the field of photobiology.
|
|
Other information in Biology and other Life Sciences may be found in the
General/Multidisciplinary article databases.
|
|
|
|