NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Justice Studies Databases

Criminal Justice Periodicals via ProQuest
Description:  A collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information on law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.  The database includes summaries and citations for over 230 journals, with more than 75 available in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The comprehensive database for criminal justice.  Start your justice studies research here!

 

CQ Weekly via CQ Press
Description:  This magazine from Congressional Quarterly is known as the pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A great magazine for staying up-to-date on current legislation and the climate in Congress.  Check out the "Browse by Topic" section to get a sense of what's been happening in lawmaking.

 

NCLIVE

Military & Government Collection via EBSCOhost
Description: A thorough collection of nearly 300 full-text titles designed to make current news about the military and all branches of government available to users.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Military and government news can be found here.

 

NCLIVE

NCJRS Abstracts Database
Description:  Provided by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service, a government agency, NCJRS contains summaries of more than 170,000 criminal justice publications including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A huge collection of summaries!  Check journal titles you find in JournalFinder, and request documents that look useful via InterLibrary Loan.

 

PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
Description:  The American Psychological Association produces this database of nearly 50 full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  All full-text articles here, but not a huge number of journals.  PsycINFO (below) is certainly a larger resource, but you'll want to search both of these.

 

PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
Description:  From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed scholarly material. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education, physiology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PsycINFO does not contain a huge percentage of full-text material.  Remember to "Check JournalFinder for full text availability."

 

NCLIVE

Statistical Warehouse via Regional OneSource
Description:  Statistical Warehouse contains raw statistics that can be used for business, political science, sociology, and other disciplines.  The statistics are often broken down by state, and typically only address topics within the United States.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When looking for data here, try clicking through the menus instead of using the search box.  There is some useful data here.


Other information in Justice Studies may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases

 

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350