NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

History E-Resources

   Databases                              Primary Sources
 
History & Multidisciplinary Databases  
Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Description:  Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains full-text articles from nearly 4,700 periodicals, including over 3,600 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.  These journals cover a wide variety of academic disciplines.  Popular news magazines and other magazines are also included.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  Searching can sometimes be tricky, because so many different fields of study are covered.  Try also searching ProQuest Research Library (below).

 

ProQuest Research Library via ProQuest
Description:  ProQuest Research Library (PQRL) provides full-text coverage of a wide range of topics including the arts, business, criminal justice, humanities, health, social sciences, and natural sciences.  3,820 titles are covered here, with 2,250 in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  PQRL contains some resources that Academic Search Premier (above) does not, and vice versa.  Try searching both PQRL and ASP when beginning your research.

 

Aluka
Description:  Aluka is a digital library for African studies, which contains documents, pictures, and other items all in a digital repository for your use.  Of particular relevance to history is the Struggles for Freedom content area, with unique and useful documents including some articles, books, pamphlets, and images related to recent history in a variety of countries.  The Heritage Sites content area is also of interest to students of ancient history.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Try Aluka for anything related to Africa; unique resources, images, and documents are always growing.

 

 
JSTOR
Description:  JSTOR contains the complete text of selected scholarly journals, going back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers access to the Arts & Sciences I collection, as well as the Biological Sciences collection, including major journals in fields such as economics, history, literature, political science, sociology, and biology.

NCWC Librarians Say:  JSTOR provides unique, exhaustive historical coverage of some very important journals, and all articles are in full-text.  Wonderful if you're researching a topic that's been important for many years.

Check out JSTOR's Tutorials on YouTube:  How to Search and How to Browse
(Audio required!)

 

 
HeritageQuest via ProQuest  
Description:  HeritageQuest Online contains census reports, genealogy resources, and local history resources that are primarily designed to help people collect their family history.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for tracing genealogies and family trees, and for doing some of the deep historical research that genealogists do.

 

NCLIVE

The New York Times (Historical) via ProQuest
Description:  The complete historical text of the New York Times is available here.  Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue covering from 1851 - 1999.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Times has been America's leading newspaper since before the Civil War.  Find contemporary coverage of historical events, book reviews, and other useful things here.

 

World Data Analyst via Britannica
Description:  A collection of current and past statistics on the countries of the world that makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy.

NCWC Librarians Say:  This is a great resource, with deep statistics on everything from economy to quality of life to military spending.  A wonderful tool for international comparison.

 

NCLIVE
Primary Sources                                                                                                Top
 
North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press
Description:  Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women from Colonial times to 1950.

NCWC Librarians Say:  These can be browsed by historical period, by historical event, and by country.  Unique primary documents are here, and are wonderful for finding the perspectives of women as events unfolded in history.

 

NCLIVE
Annals of American History via Britannica  
Description:  A database of primary sources, Annals of American History provides key texts of historical documents. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A great starting point for primary sources, with very helpful introductions.  A great place to find the "real stuff" of American history.

 

NCLIVE
American Slavery via Greenwood Digital Collection
Description:  A "composite autobiography," this is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The institution from the perspective of the people it affected most.  A window into an often underrepresented part of America's past.

 

NCLIVE
American Presidency Project via UC Santa Barbara
Description:  The American Presidency Project is a collection of 75,795 public documents to be used in the study of the presidency.  It contains fully digitized presidential papers from the 1700s to today, all in searchable digital format.  Its data section also provides valuable information.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you are doing any research that might involve a U.S. president, you have to do yourself the favor of using this resource.  It's a wonderful primary-document site.

 

 

In the First Person via Alexander Street Press
Description:  In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. It lets you keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 3,500 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records.

NCWC Librarians Say:  These narratives include a huge variety of different people, events, and places in the world.  Many of these are not completely in full text here, unfortunately.

 

 

American Memory Project via The Library of Congress
Description:  American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.

NCWC Librarians Say:  This includes literary, historical, geographical, and other resources in digitized online form.  A helpful place to find different kinds of primary documents that focus on America.

 

 

Documenting the American South via The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Description:  A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes nine thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Ever-growing, the DocSouth collection is especially useful for looking at key texts and primary source documents from the history of this region.

 

 

Eastern North Carolina Digital Library
Description:  This project brings together local history materials, historical fiction related to these localities, and museum artifacts that highlight Eastern North Carolina's rich past. The website fosters keyword, title, subject, author, artifact, classroom resource and geographic access. Keyword full-text searching is available in the search box at the top of every category page, as well as on the Search page.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A virtual museum of the region around Rocky Mount, this digital library provides access to items of interest to those investigating local history.

 

 

Sanborn Maps North Carolina via Sanborn Maps
Description:  Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The best collection of North Carolina maps, especially city maps.  Some of the older historical maps from the 19th Century are of particular interest.

 

NCLIVE

Other historical information may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350