NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

General Databases

Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Description:  Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains full-text articles from nearly 4,700 periodicals, including over 3,600 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.  These journals cover a wide variety of academic disciplines.  Popular news magazines and other magazines are also included.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  Searching can sometimes be tricky, because so many different fields of study are covered.  Also try searching ProQuest Research Library (below) for more information.

 

NCLIVE

ProQuest Research Library via ProQuest
Description:  ProQuest Research Library (PQRL) provides full-text coverage of a wide range of topics including the arts, business, criminal justice, humanities, health, social sciences, and natural sciences.  3,820 titles are covered here, with 2,250 in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  PQRL contains some resources that Academic Search Premier (above) does not, and vice versa.  Try searching both PQRL and ASP when beginning your research.

 

 
JSTOR
Description:  JSTOR contains the complete text of selected scholarly journals, going back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers access to the Arts & Sciences I collection, as well as the Biological Sciences collection, including major journals in fields such as economics, history, literature, political science, sociology, and biology.

NCWC Librarians Say:  JSTOR provides unique, exhaustive historical coverage of some very important journals, and all articles are in full-text.  Wonderful if you're researching a topic that's been important for many years.

Check out JSTOR's Tutorials on YouTube:  How to Search and How to Browse
(Audio required!)

 

 

CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press
Description: CQ Researcher offers balanced overviews of contemporary political and social issues.  Each report includes background information, both sides of the debate surrounding the issue, and suggested resources to consult for further information.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Writing about or researching a very current issue?  Want to see how you feel about a current political debate?  CQ Researcher is your place.  A tremendous place to educate yourself about contemporary issues. 

 

 
OAIster via OCLC
Description:  From the University of Michigan and cataloging giants OCLC comes OAIster, a new gigantic database of digitally-published material from open-access digital archives.  Scientists and researchers more than ever are publishing online instead of in journals; OAIster provides access to 20 million electronically-published sources and counting. 

NCWC Librarians Say: A large majority of this information is scholarly and comes from very good sources.  These are downloadable articles and publications that you can find on the web, but not all in one place.  Many are written by top scholars.  A great resource for getting stuff that's out there for free, but hard to find.

 

NCLIVE

Wiley InterScience via North Carolina Consortium
Description:  The InterScience database contains full text for over 2,500 academic journals, books, and reference works.  Disciplines covered well include business, chemistry, computer science, education, life sciences, and social sciences.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Almost all of the content on Wiley is unique to Wiley, and much of it is very useful.  Books are lined up alongside journal articles, which makes it easy to find what you need.

 

MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost
Description:  From the same vendors as Academic Search Premier, MasterFile contains fewer periodicals than other multidisciplinary databases (roughly 3,100), but has interesting tools that allow searches for News Wires, Primary Source Documents, and other useful items.

NCWC Librarians Say:  For in-depth primary-source research on certain topics, MasterFile is a useful place to look.  For getting started, try Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library first.

 

NCLIVE
ArticleFirst via OCLC
Description:  OCLC's database from tables of contents of many journals includes citations only for over 23 million articles.  No indexes or abstracts, but a huge number of titles that you can order through Interlibrary Loan.
 
NCLIVE

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350