Online Encyclopedias
Britannica Online via Britannica
Description: Includes the complete
text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, including all of
its multimedia content, and links to valuable Internet sites.
The online encyclopedia includes an atlas, country
data, timelines, quotations, and a very helpful menu
interface to complement searching.
NCWC Librarians Say: The word
"encyclopedia" is not in Britannica Online's title for a
reason. There is much more here than you might think,
including a wonderful richness of multimedia resources and
even statistics. The World Data section is particularly
good. |
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale
Description: Virtual Reference Library provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.
NCWC Librarians Say: When you need to
move beyond the basic information contained in Britannica and
other encyclopedias, Gale is a great way to do it. These
e-books all have access through our catalog as well. |
|
Description: A
database of primary sources, Annals of American History
provides key texts of historical documents.
Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who
made and analyzed American history through speeches,
writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.
NCWC Librarians
Say: A great starting point for primary sources,
with very helpful introductions. A great place to
find the "real stuff" of American history.
|
|
Description: Catalog of Art Museum Images
Online—offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images
for your use in putting together projects, looking at
art, and other uses.
NCWC
Librarians Say: It's not always easy to find the
specific painting or sculpture you're looking for, but art from almost all periods and cultures is
available here.
|
|
Description: A Spanish encyclopedia that contains over 47,000
entries plus 8,300 photos and images. A good resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
NCWC Librarians
Say: If you're a native Spanish speaker or a
bilingual student, this might help you a great deal with
some concepts.
|
|
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost
Description:
Includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas.
NCWC Librarians Say: Even though it's smaller and less
comprehensive than the Britannica, this is still a useful place for quick
lookup and to find additional encyclopedic information. |
|
|
|