NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Education Databases

ERIC  via Ebsco
Description:  The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The database also contains more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966.

NCWC Librarians Say:  ERIC is an amazing collection of journals and documents within the field of education.  When viewing your results, remember to "Check JournalFinder for Full Text Availability."

 

NCLIVE

ProQuest Research Library via ProQuest
Description:  Though it is a general database, PQRL contains a large number of major education journals and magazines.  ProQuest Research Library (PQRL) provides full-text coverage of a wide range of topics including the arts, business, criminal justice, humanities, health, social sciences, and natural sciences.  3,820 titles are covered here, with 2,250 in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  For your education research, try "education" alongside other keywords as you search to guide your search to journals specific to education.

 

NCLIVE
Statistical Warehouse via Regional OneSource
Description:  Statistical Warehouse contains raw statistics that can be used for business, political science, sociology, and other disciplines.  The statistics are often broken down by state, and typically only address topics within the United States.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When looking for data here, try clicking through the menus instead of using the search box.  There is some useful data here.

 

 
PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
Description:  The American Psychological Association produces this database of nearly 50 full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  All full-text articles here, but not a huge number of journals.  PsycINFO (below) is certainly a larger resource, but you'll want to search both of these.

 

 
PsycINFO via EBSCO
Description:  From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed scholarly material. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education, physiology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PsycINFO does not contain a huge percentage of full-text material.  Remember to "Check JournalFinder for full text availability."

 

 

Learning Express Library via Learning Express
Description:  Provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Practice GREs?  PRAXIS I?  Law enforcement tests?  Find practice tests, test preparation help, and other standardized testing resources here.

 

NCLIVE

North Carolina Curriculum via the Department of Public Instruction
Description:  Included are specific Department of Public Instruction goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina. The look-up service provides a convenient way for teachers, administrators, and parents to verify the instructional objectives of the Standard Course of Study at a given grade by subject area.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A very helpful resource for finding, developing, and following curriculum standards.

 

NCLIVE
Resources for Child Education                                                                           

   Top

Middle Search Plus via EBSCOhost
Description:  General reference source for middle school students.

 

NCLIVE

Primary Search via EBSCOhost
Description:  Indexing and abstracting of 116 children's magazines from 1984 to present.

 

NCLIVE
Searchasaurus via EBSCOhost
Description:  Colorful and fun graphical search interface intended for elementary and middle school students.

 

NCLIVE

You might also try General/Multidisciplinary article databases

 

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350