NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Chemistry Databases

PubMed via National Library of Medicine
Description:  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PubMed is the largest and most extensive database of medical journal literature, and contains a huge number of chemistry citations as well.  PubMed does not contain a huge amount of full text of its own.  Use the Find Journals by Title portion of the NCWC library homepage to check for full text.

 

PubChem via NLM
Description:  PubChem is a database that "provides information on the biological (and other) activities of small molecules."  It is growing every day, and now has data far beyond simply biological activities on over 8 million compounds.  Data, structures, and information about a huge variety of molecules can be found here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  What PubMed is for journal articles, PubChem is for molecules.  This is fast becoming a one-stop-shopping site for data sheets about a huge variety of organic and inorganic compounds.  Find structures, hazards, uses, and functions of all these substances.

 

ChemRefer
Description:  A medium-sized and growing database of full-text chemistry articles, ChemRefer contains 50,000 articles from chemical and pharmaceutical literature.  ChemRefer links to company, government, open source, and subscription journal articles with permission from publishers.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A great full-text resource for chemistry; almost everything you find will be a scholarly article that is available in full text.  ChemRefer is also ridiculously easy to use; just type your search and click on article titles.  Try this alongside your search of PubMed, or by itself if you would rather not wade through a ton of non-chemistry articles.

 

 

ChemIDPlus via NLM
Description:  The ChemIDPlus database is a deeper project related to PubChem, that aggregates data and citations about roughly 400,000 molecules.  You can search for specific molecules, or molecules meeting certain criteria including size and toxicity.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When you search for a molecule in ChemIDPlus, you are given a list of different free, usable, official sites that have a wide variety of data about each substance.  This is really a great site, and looks to be growing in the future.

 

 
arXiv
The "premier electronic source for most streams of research in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology."  ArXiv currently has access to over 500,000 scientific papers, articles, chapters, and conference presentations in these quantitative sciences.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Though it's available through the open web, this works much like any of your favorite databases.  A great resource for any of the sciences that have much to do with numbers.

 

 

CINAHL via EBSCOhost
Description:  CINAHL is the most complete and best-known database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and allied health fields.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you're working on a topic at the intersection of social science and health, such as epidemiology or the provision of medical care, CINAHL is essential.

 

NCLIVE

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost
Description:  Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Use this for finding scholarly resources in the medical fields, especially when compared with the Consumer Edition.  This database includes medicinal chemistry and pharmaceuticals

 

NCLIVE
JSTOR Biological Sciences, Arts & Sciences
Description: JSTOR contains the complete text of selected scholarly journals, going back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers access to the Biological Sciences collection, including complete runs of some major journals in biology.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Some relevant chemistry journals, especially biochemistry and huge titles like Science, are housed here in long backfiles that let you find articles from many years ago.

Check out JSTOR's Tutorials on YouTube:  How to Search and How to Browse
(Audio required!)

 

 

Wiley InterScience via North Carolina Consortium
Description:  The InterScience database contains full text for over 2,500 academic journals, books, and reference works.  Disciplines covered well include business, chemistry, computer science, education, life sciences, and social sciences.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Almost all of the content on Wiley is unique to Wiley, and much of it is very useful.  The fact that books are lined up alongside journal articles makes Wiley quite helpful, particularly for science-related topics.


Other information in Chemistry and other sciences may be found in the General/Multidisciplinary article databases.

 

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350