NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete via ProQuest
Description: ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database including scholarly journal articles, company profiles, and a wide variety of helpful documents.  The combination of products forms a business database package that offers nearly 3,000 full-text titles covering the United States and international business.

NCWC Librarians Say:  ABI/INFORM is the second-largest full-text business database, after Business Source Premier.  Useful for its large amount of full text content, and the usually well-updated company profiles.

 

Business Source Premier via EBSCO
Description:  The most used business research database, Business Source Premier (BSP) provides the full text for nearly 8,800 serials.  BSP also provides book citations, some company profile data, and a variety of reports.

NCWC Librarians Say: BSP is similar to ABI/INFORM, but contains a larger amount of scholarly literature while ABI includes better and more recent reports.  Use both to get a comprehensive search on a particular topic.

 

NCLIVE

Mergent Online Please log out when exiting this database
Description:  Mergent Online is the most comprehensive source of data, news, and information about public companies.  Annual reports, financial data, and a wide variety of other data can be found here.  One of the most useful aspects of Mergent Online is its exceptional collection of industry reports and comparisons.

NCWC Librarians Say:  One-stop shopping for company data.  A great resource, with a huge number of features and areas worth exploring.

 

Morningstar Library Edition via Morningstar
Description:  Morningstar is the library's most important reference point for investment research.  Reports, data, performance analyses, and expert opinions on stocks, bonds, funds, and more can be found here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  One-stop shopping for investment research.  Goes far beyond the kinds of data that you can find on the free web.  The Morningstar Ratings are very important for investors.

 

NCLIVE
STAT-USA and Globus via U.S. Department of Commerce
NOTE: Password Required!  Contact a librarian for the password.
Description:  STAT-USA contains two services.  State of the Nation is an aggregated source of economic indicators and economic data for business and economic activity within the United States.  GLOBUS contains data and reports related to international trade.  These databases include statistics, indicators, economic census data, and the most up-to-date official information on the status of the economy.

NCWC Librarians Say:  In both of these databases, try clicking on the "Library" link in the top navigation bar.  This will lead you to a list of reports and documents broken down by category.  This is a powerful resource for official government documents related to all facets of the economy.

 

 
Statistical Warehouse via Regional OneSource
Description:  Statistical Warehouse contains raw statistics that can be used for business, political science, sociology, and other disciplines.  The statistics are often broken down by state, and typically only address topics within the United States.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When looking for data here, try clicking through the menus instead of using the search box.  There is some useful data here.

 

 

ReferenceUSA via RefUSA
Description:  Rather than articles, ReferenceUSA contains directory-style information about businesses and corporations based in the United States.  The main address and key executives for large corporations, as well as the local offices of smaller businesses, can all be found here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Think of ReferenceUSA as a souped-up national yellow pages for businesses.

 

NCLIVE

Regional Business News via EBSCOhost
Description:  RBN contains abstracts and indexes for 67 regional business publications. Includes some full text for 52 of those titles. 

NCWC Librarians Say:  A decent resource for some specific business research, especially up-to-date and specific business news.

 

NCLIVE

The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Description:  The financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.  NCWC offers coverage from 1984-present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Wall Street Journal, pure and simple.


You might also try General/Multidisciplinary article databases
NCLIVE

 

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350