NCWC Pearsall Library Athletics Alumni Administration Academic Programs Admission About NCWC Library Home Find Books Services & Information Find Articles Research Help Library Hours NCWC Pearsall Library

Databases by Title

A B C D E F G H J L M N P R S T W
-A-
 

ABI/INFORM Complete via ProQuest
Description: ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database including scholarly journal articles, company profiles, and a wide variety of helpful documents.  The combination of products forms a business database package that offers nearly 3,000 full-text titles covering the United States and international business.

NCWC Librarians Say:  ABI/INFORM is the second-largest full-text business database, after Business Source Premier.  Useful for its large amount of full text content, and the usually well-updated company profiles.

 

Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Description:  Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains full-text articles from nearly 4,700 periodicals, including over 3,600 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.  These journals cover a wide variety of academic disciplines.  Popular news magazines and other magazines are also included.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  Searching can sometimes be tricky, because so many different fields of study are covered.  Try also searching ProQuest Research Library (below).

 

NCLIVE

Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students 4v, 2002
Based on the scholarship in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Africa, aimed at college and graduate students, this work presents Africa, from Egypt to Cape Town and from prehistoric times to the present day, in a format accessible to high school students. This set spans many disciplines, covering animals, foods, holidays and festivals, tribal groups, ecology, music and art, trade and economy, geography, religion, folklore, and fossil and skeletal discoveries.

 

NCLIVE

African American Almanac, 2003
The African American Almanac provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture in 28 topical chapters (e.g., African American Firsts, Politics, Family & Health). It also includes a chronology, a chapter of important primary documents, directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a filmography, hundreds of brief biographies, and more than 650 photographs, illustrations, maps, and statistical charts located within the most appropriate text.

 

NCLIVE

African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  Contains important poems from the early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A large number of relatively rare full-text poems can be found here.

 

NCLIVE

AGRICOLA
Description:  A bibliographic database of citations to articles and books created by the National Agricultural Library.  The database is extensive and stretches back to the 1400s.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Helpful for agricultural research, but you need to check other databases and the library catalog to see if the citations here are available in full text.

 

Aluka
Description:  Aluka is a digital library for African studies, which contains documents, pictures, and other items all in a digital repository for your use.  Of particular relevance to biology is the African Plants content area, with huge numbers of specimens, reference sources, and other research related to African botany.  Of particular relevance to history is the Struggles for Freedom content area, with unique and useful documents including some articles, books, pamphlets, and images related to recent history in a variety of countries.  The Heritage Sites content area is also of interest to students of ancient history.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Try Aluka for anything related to Africa; unique resources, images, and documents are always growing.

 

 
America's Newspapers via Newsbank  
Description:  America's Newspapers features the full-text content of over 600 U.S. newspapers, with more than 290 titles available exclusively from NewsBank, each the complete electronic edition of record.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The best resource we have for news from across the country, including the Raleigh News & Observer and some very specific selected major regional and national papers.

 
NCLIVE

American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  Contains the text of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A huge number of poems from major and not-so-major authors can be found here.

 

NCLIVE

American Slavery via Greenwood
Description:  A "composite autobiography," this is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The institution from the perspective of the people it affected most.  A great window into our troubled past.

 

NCLIVE

Animal Sciences 4v, 2002
This interdisciplinary resource explores the wide-ranging diversity that exists within the animal kingdom. Entries examine how animals develop, animal ecology and behavior, and the connection between animals and humans. Also includes biographies of key scientists who have contributed to the study of animal life, as well as career opportunities within the field.

 

NCLIVE
Annals of American History via Britannica  
Description:  A database of primary sources, Annals of American History provides key texts of historical documents. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A great starting point for primary sources, with very helpful introductions.  A great place to find the "real stuff" of American history.

 
NCLIVE
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture.

 

NCLIVE
arXiv
The "premier electronic source for most streams of research in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, and quantitative biology."  ArXiv currently has access to over 500,000 scientific papers, articles, chapters, and conference presentations in these quantitative sciences.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Though it's available through the open web, this works much like any of your favorite databases.  A great resource for any of the sciences that have much to do with numbers.
 
-B-
[ top ]

Bibliography of Education Theses in Australia
Description:  This database is of papers written for higher degrees accepted at Australian universities and colleges in the field of educational studies. Coverage: 1919-present. Continuously updated.

 

 

BioOne
Description:  BioOne contains eighty major journals in the field of biological sciences, most of which have large backfiles in full text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A wonderful resource for finding articles in the biological sciences, including a large number of very important journals and highly-regarded magazines.

 

 

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus via WilsonWeb
Description:  Coverage includes indexing of a wide range of 375 scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.  Full text coverage is available for 90 of the journals.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Because the indexing is so much more complete than the full text, make use of the "Check for Full-text" button when looking at results from this database.


 

Books in Print via Bowker
A professional online book, audio book, video, and publisher information source. Find critical reviews from reputable sources, and information on any book that's in print.

 

 
Britannica Online via Britannica  
Description:  Includes the complete text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, including all of its multimedia content, and links to valuable Internet sites.  The online encyclopedia includes an atlas, country data, timelines, quotations, and a very helpful menu interface to complement searching.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The word "encyclopedia" is not in Britannica Online's title for a reason.  There is much more here than you might think, including a wonderful richness of multimedia resources and even statistics.  The World Data section is particularly good.

 
 

Business Source Premier via EBSCO
Description:  The most used business research database, Business Source Premier (BSP) provides the full text for nearly 8,800 serials.  BSP also provides book citations, some company profile data, and a variety of reports.

NCWC Librarians Say: BSP is similar to ABI/INFORM, but contains a larger amount of scholarly literature while ABI includes better and more recent reports.  Use both to get a comprehensive search on a particular topic.

 

NCLIVE
-C-
[ top ]
Description:  Catalog of Art Museum Images Online—offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for your use in putting together projects, looking at art, and other uses.

NCWC Librarians Say:  It's not always easy to find the specific painting or sculpture you're looking for on here, but art from almost all periods and cultures is available here.

 
NCLIVE
Choice Reviews Online via Choice
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

 

 
Chronicling America: Historic America Newspapers via Library of Congress Description:  Chronicling America enhances access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  As this expands, it will become a more important resource.

 

 

CINAHL with full-text via EBSCOhost
Description:  CINAHL is the most complete and best-known database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and allied health fields.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you're working on a topic at the intersection of social science and health, such as epidemiology or the provision of medical care, CINAHL is essential.

 

NCLIVE

College Blue Book, 32nd ed., 6v, 2005
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources. Features detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs

NCLIVE

CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press
Description: CQ Researcher offers balanced overviews of contemporary political and social issues.  Each report includes background information, both sides of the debate surrounding the issue, and suggested resources to consult for further information.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Writing about or researching a very current issue?  Want to see how you feel about a current political debate?  CQ Researcher is your place.  A tremendous place to educate yourself about contemporary issues.

NCLIVE

CQ Weekly via CQ Press
Description:  This magazine from Congressional Quarterly is known as the pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A great online magazine for staying up on current legislation and the climate in Congress.  Check out the "Browse by Topic" section to get a sense of what's been happening in lawmaking.

 

NCLIVE

Criminal Justice Periodicals
Description:  A collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information on law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.  The database includes summaries and citations for over 230 journals, with more than 75 available in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The comprehensive database for criminal justice.  Start your justice studies research here!

 

 

Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers via Greenwood
Description:  The documents here provide in-depth analysis of current, best-selling fiction and fiction authors.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A good resource for studying people like Mary Higgins Clark, Stephen King, and even more literary types like Julia Alvarez.

 

NCLIVE
-D-
[ top ]

Daily Life Through History via Greenwood
A detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history.

 

NCLIVE

Digital Photobiology Compendium
Description: A free online textbook developed by the American Society for Photobiology.

NCWC Librarians Say:  An introduction to the field of photobiology.

 

 

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning About Addictive Behavior 3v, 2003
Covers the range of topics related to addiction for researchers in grade six and above. Approximately 200 articles cover everything from binge drinking to the role of genetics in addictive behaviors. Also included are additional articles on media representation, drug use in schools, herbal supplements, and more.

 

NCLIVE
-E-
[ top ]
Description:  A Spanish encyclopedia that contains over 47,000 entries plus 8,300 photos and images. A good resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you're a native Spanish speaker or a bilingual student, this might help you a great deal with some concepts.

 
 

Encyclopedia of Animals via EBSCOhost Indexing
Abstracts and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

 

NCLIVE
Encyclopedia of Bioethics 3rd ed. 5v, 2004
This edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set first published in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

 

NCLIVE
Encyclopedia of Biomes 3v, 2000
This set offers students and researchers comprehensive and easy-to-use information on 12 of the Earth's major biomes and its many component ecosystems. Alphabetically arranged entries on land and water biomes range from 35 to 45 pages each and cover climate, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome, and more.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in  History and Society 3v, 2004
This encyclopedia presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture 3v, 2003
Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics, and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Entries range from 250 to 10,000 words each and are supplemented by 400 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines, and a comprehensive index.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 2v, 2004
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features 3v, 2004
Focuses on the physical and geological aspects, structure, and features of 48 of the earth's landforms - what they are, how they look, how they were created, how they change over time, and major geological events associated with them. Written for middle school students to support earth science and landform-related assignments, alphabetically arranged entries follow a standard and consistent subheaded format; range in length from 9 to 11 pages; and cover common and unusual landforms such as archipelago, estuary, isthmus, tributary, and many more.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia 6v, 2002
Nearly 700 contributors from around the world, including 25 Asian countries, provide 3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally.

 

NCLIVE

Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd ed., 15v, 2005
The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century.

 

NCLIVE
Features 750 biographies of notable historic and current figures from around the world. Entries focus on the people most often studied in middle and high school. Highlights include photos and illustrations; a chronology; a glossary; sidebars covering facts of interest; and indexes by nationality, ethnicity, occupation, and general terms.
 
 
NCLIVE

English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  Full text of the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Almost one-stop shopping for the huge body of literature that is pre-1900 English poetry.

 

NCLIVE

ERIC  via Ebsco
Description:  The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The database also contains more than 1.2 million citations going back to 1966.

NCWC Librarians Say:  ERIC is an amazing collection of journals and documents within the field of education.  When viewing your results, remember to "Check JournalFinder for Full Text Availability."

 

NCLIVE
ETS.org: Praxis Information
At nonprofit ETS, our mission is to advance quality and equity in education for all people worldwide. We help teachers teach, students learn, and parents measure the educational and intellectual progress of their children.
 
-F-
[ top ]

Faber Poetry Library via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.

NCWC Librarians Say:  For more recent poetry, this is a great source for poem texts.

 

NCLIVE

Fashion, Costume, and Culture, 2004
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.

 

NCLIVE
Foundation Center
The Foundation Center is a nonprofit gateway to philanthropic and non-profit giving.  A great source for information about grant-finding.  While some areas of the site are protected to non-fee-based users, using the free registration gives you access to plenty of good information.

 

 

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost
Description:  Includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Smaller and less comprehensive than the Britannica, and lacks multimedia options and even pictures, this still a useful place for quick lookup and to find additional encyclopedic information.

NCLIVE
-G- [ top ]
Gale Encyclopedia of Science 3rd ed., 6v, 2004
Designed for high-school students and lay adults, this collection of entries covers major areas of science including: biology, genetics, microbiology, astronomy, chemistry, physics, engineering, technology, geology, weather, archaeology, psychology, mathematics, and medicine, and provides readers with a wide range of up-to-date, relevant, and accurate information.

 

NCLIVE

Gale Encyclopedia of Science and Religion 2v, 2003
Addresses the interactions, contradictions, and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

 

NCLIVE

Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale
Description:  Virtual Reference Library provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When you need to move beyond the basic information contained in Britannica and other encyclopedias, Gale is a great way to do it.  These e-books all have access through our catalog as well.

 

NCLIVE

Genetics 4v, 2003
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of genetics, from Mendel to the decoding of the human genome. Explains the workings of genes and chromosomes, genetic diseases, and biotechnology. Also covers the ethical, legal, and social issues connected to genetic science. Includes full-color photos and line drawings, a glossary of scientific terms, and coverage of careers in the field.

 

NCLIVE
-H- [ top ]

Health Source: Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost
Description:  Provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Consumer Edition, as opposed to the Nursing/Academic edition, is much more focused on articles that are relevant to consumers or basic members of the population.  Good for quickly familiarizing yourself with certain issues.

 

NCLIVE

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost
Description:  Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Use this for finding scholarly resources in the medical fields, especially when compared with the Consumer Edition.  Combined with CINAHL, these represent the best full-text article databases for health topics.

 

NCLIVE
HeritageQuest via ProQuest  
Description:  HeritageQuest Online contains census reports, genealogy resources, and local history resources that are primarily designed to help people collect their family history.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for tracing genealogies and family trees, and for doing some of the deep historical research that genealogists do.

 
NCLIVE

Historic Events of the 20th Century via Greenwood
A full text resource detailing how events of the last century have shaped and continue to influence today's events.

NCLIVE
   
-J-
[ top ]

JournalFinder
Journal Finder is an integrated search interface that allows you to determine if the Library provides electronic access, to find out if the Library owns a print copy, to find out which other libraries may have print copies, and to order copies of articles that can be sent directly to you.

 

 

JSTOR
Description:  JSTOR contains the complete text of selected scholarly journals, going back as far as the journals go back. NCWC offers access to the Arts & Sciences I collection, as well as the Biological Sciences collection, including major journals in fields such as economics, history, literature, political science, sociology, and biology.

NCWC Librarians Say:  JSTOR provides unique, exhaustive historical coverage of some very important journals, and all articles are in full-text.  Wonderful if you're researching a topic that's been important for many years.

 

 

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures 9v, 1999
Profiles more than 290 of the most representative and studied groups from around the world. Presented in nine volumes and arranged into 20 easy-to-follow rubrics that facilitate quick scanning and meaningful comparisons among cultures, including location, language, folklore, religion, social problems, and more.

 

NCLIVE
-L-
[ top ]

Learning Express Library via Learning Express
Description:  Provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Practice GREs?  GMATS?  PRAXIS I?  Law enforcement tests?  Find practice tests, test preparation help, and other standardized testing resources here.

 

NCLIVE

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) via EBSCO
(c. 1965 to present) Indexes articles in over 600 periodicals, books, conference proceedings, research reports on a wide variety of library and information science topics.

 

 

Literature in Context via Greenwood
Description:  A rich collection of primary source material, collateral readings, and commentary that helps students understand the historical, social, and cultural context associated with major literary works.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A resource that puts certain major canonical works (Huck Finn, Lord of the Flies, Hamlet) in their social context.

 

NCLIVE

Literature Resource Center via Gale Group
Description:  The Literature Resource Center is built on Thomson Gale's three hallmark author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is a resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you're looking for information about authors in a large number of fields, or literary criticism, this is a key database.

 

 
-M- [ top ]

MAS Ultra via EBSCO
A comprehensive general reference database including over 1 million articles.

 

NCLIVE

MasterFile Premier via EBSCO
Description:  From the same vendors as Academic Search Premier, MasterFile contains fewer periodicals than other multidisciplinary databases (roughly 3,100), but has interesting tools that allow searches for News Wires, Primary Source Documents, and other useful items.

NCWC Librarians Say:  For in-depth primary-source research on certain topics, MasterFile is a useful place to look.  For getting started, try Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Research Library first.

 

NCLIVE

MEDLINEplus via NLM
Description: MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 600 diseases and conditions.  It also includes a News section, a medical encyclopedia, and information about medications.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A very helpful reference site for any of the topics in the above description.  MEDLINE even contains journal articles, but these must be found by first looking up the condition or topic and using the menus.

 

 

Mergent Online Please Log-out when exiting this database
Description:  Mergent Online is the most comprehensive source of data, news, and information about public companies.  Annual reports, financial data, and a wide variety of other data can be found here.  One of the most useful aspects of Mergent Online is its exceptional collection of industry reports and comparisons.

NCWC Librarians Say:  One-stop shopping for company data.  A great resource, with a huge number of features and areas worth exploring.

 

 

Middle Search Plus via EBSCO
General reference source for middle school students.

 

NCLIVE

Military & Government Collection via EBSCO
Description: A thorough collection of nearly 300 full-text titles designed to make current news about the military and all branches of government available to users.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Military and government news can be found here.

 

NCLIVE

MLA Directory of Periodicals via EBSCO
Description: The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Directory contains information about journals, not the texts of these journals; useful more to librarians and faculty than to most students.

 

 

MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO
Description:  MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The flagship database for English and Literature studies.  Because book citations are included alongside articles, take a look at the "Publication Type" box on the first page to limit your search, if you want.

 

 

Morningstar Library Edition via Morningstar
Description:  Morningstar is the library's most important reference point for investment research.  Reports, data, performance analyses, and expert opinions on stocks, bonds, funds, and more can be found here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  One-stop shopping for investment research.  Goes far beyond the kinds of data that you can find on the free web.  The Morningstar Ratings are very important for investors.

 

NCLIVE
-N-
[ top ]

NAXOS   Please log out when exiting this database
Description:  Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of actual classical music tracks available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The best resource we offer for classical music.

 

 

NCJRS Abstracts Database
Description:  Provided by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service, a government agency, NCJRS contains summaries of more than 170,000 criminal justice publications including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A huge collection of summaries!  Check journal titles you find in JournalFinder, and request documents that look useful via InterLibrary Loan.

 

 

NC LIVE EZSearch
A searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, electronic books, historical materials and maps covering a wide range of topics.

 

NCLIVE

netLibrary via netLibrary
Description:  A database of eBooks, netLibrary provides easy access to the full text of more than 24,000 reference, scholarly, and professional books.  These e-books are also individually linked from the NCWC catalog.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A huge variety of electronic books are here in full text.  You can also find these by searching the catalog, so to find electronic books alongside our print collection, search the library catalog from the homepage.

 

NCLIVE

The New York Times (Historical) via ProQuest
Description:  The complete historical text of the New York Times is available here.  Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue covering from 1851 - 1999.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Times has been America's leading newspaper of record since before the Civil War.  Find contemporary coverage of historical events, book reviews, and other useful things here.

 

 

Newspaper Source via EBSCOhost
Description:  Provides summaries and citations from 1995 to present for national newspapers and selected full text from major papers and the Raleigh News & Observer.

NCWC Librarians say:  Use America's Newspapers before you check here, but Newspaper Source has a fairly large database of news articles that you might not be able to find in other resources NCWC has.

 

NCLIVE

North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press
Description:  Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women from Colonial times to 1950.

NCWC Librarians Say:  These can be browsed by historical period, by historical event, and by country.  Unique primary documents are here, and are wonderful for finding the perspectives of women as events unfolded in history.

 

NCLIVE
North Carolina Curriculum via the Department of Public Instruction
Description:  Included are specific Department of Public Instruction goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina. The look-up service provides a convenient way for teachers, administrators, and parents to verify the instructional objectives of the Standard Course of Study at a given grade by subject area.

NCWC Librarians Say:  A very helpful resource for finding, developing, and following curriculum standards.

 

NCLIVE
North Carolina State Publications Collection
A database of government information provided by and related to the state of North Carolina.
NCLIVE

NoveList via EBSCO NoveList
Description:  A readers' advisory service that is searchable by author, title, series name, and plot (including character, topic, time period, and setting) to retrieve descriptions, reviews, discussion guides, and feature articles related to primarily fiction books of interest.

NCWC Librarians Say:  If you enjoy reading books by a specific author, or about a specific topic, try NoveList to find "read-alike" books or other things you might like to read.  A bookaholic's dream come true.

 

NCLIVE
-P-
[ top ]

Pollution A to Z 2v, 2004 
Provides the latest information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources, disposal, remediation, the ethical, social, and legal environment, careers, and much more. Articles range from topical essays on acid rain, cancer, noise pollution, and zero growth population to biographies on key figures.

 

NCLIVE

Primary Search via EBSCOhost
Indexing and abstracting of 116 children's magazines from 1984 to present.

 

NCLIVE

ProQuest Newspapers via ProQuest
Description:  Full text and selected coverage of nationwide, regional and North Carolina newspapers.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Use America's Newspapers before you check here, but ProQuest Newspapers is the largest database of news articles that NCWC has.

 

NCLIVE

ProQuest Research Library via ProQuest
Description:  ProQuest Research Library (PQRL) provides full-text coverage of a wide range of topics including the arts, business, criminal justice, humanities, health, social sciences, and natural sciences.  3,820 titles are covered here, with 2,250 in full-text.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Great for starting out with research on a huge variety of topics.  PQRL contains some resources that Academic Search Premier (above) does not, and vice versa.  Try searching both PQRL and ASP when beginning your research.

 

 
PsycARTICLES via EBSCO
Description:  The American Psychological Association produces this database of nearly 50 full-text psychology publications covering the disciplines of Human Physiology, Personality Psychology, Social Psychology, Educational Psychology, and more.

NCWC Librarians Say:  All full-text articles here, but not a huge number of journals.  PsycINFO (below) is certainly a larger resource, but you'll want to search both of these.

 

 
PsycINFO via EBSCO
Description:  From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed scholarly material. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as education, physiology, business, law and others. Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PsycINFO does not contain a huge percentage of full-text material.  Remember to "Check JournalFinder for full text availability."

 

NCLIVE

PubMed via NLM
Description:  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

NCWC Librarians Say:  PubMed is the largest and most extensive database of medical citations, but does not contain a huge amount of full text of its own.  Use the Find Journals by Title portion of the NCWC library homepage to check for full text.

 

 
-R-
[ top ]

ReferenceUSA via RefUSA
Description:  Rather than articles, ReferenceUSA contains directory-style information about businesses and corporations based in the United States.  The main address and key executives for large corporations, as well as the local offices of smaller businesses, can all be found here.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Think of ReferenceUSA as a souped-up national yellow pages for businesses.

 

NCLIVE

Regional Business News via EBSCOhost
Description:  RBN contains abstracts and indexes for 67 regional business publications. Includes some full text for 52 of those titles. 

NCWC Librarians Say:  A decent resource for some specific business research, especially up-to-date and specific business news.

 

NCLIVE

Resources for College Libraries via Bowker
This 2006 edition is the long-awaited successor to Books for College Libraries (BCL3). The core list features 65,000 titles in 58 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected for your academic library by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

 

 
   
-S-
[ top ]

Sanborn Maps North Carolina via Sanborn Maps
Description:  Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The best collection of North Carolina maps, especially city maps.  Of particular interest may be some of the older historical maps from the 19th Century.

 

NCLIVE

Searchasaurus via EBSCOhost
Colorful and fun graphical search interface intended for elementary and middle school students.

 

NCLIVE

Serials Directory via EBSCOhost
Provides up-to-date information and pricing for popular magazines and other serials.

 

NCLIVE
STAT-USA and Globus via U.S. Department of Commerce
NOTE: Password Required!  Contact a librarian for the password.
Description:  STAT-USA contains two services.  State of the Nation is an aggregated source of economic indicators and economic data for business and economic activity within the United States.  GLOBUS contains data and reports related to international trade.  These databases include statistics, indicators, economic census data, and the most up-to-date official information on the status of the economy.

NCWC Librarians Say:  In both of these databases, try clicking on the "Library" link in the top navigation bar.  This will lead you to a list of reports and documents broken down by category.  This is a powerful resource for official government documents related to all facets of the economy.

 

 

Statistical Warehouse via Regional OneSource
Description:  Statistical Warehouse contains raw statistics that can be used for business, political science, sociology, and other disciplines.  The statistics are often broken down by state, and typically only address topics within the United States.

NCWC Librarians Say:  When looking for data here, try clicking through the menus instead of using the search box.  There is some useful data here.

 

 
-T-
[ top ]

TOXNET via NLM
Description:  An integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases organized by the National Library of Medicine.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Anything related to environmental hazards, biohazards, and other issues related to toxins can be searched from here.  These databases tend to contain technical information and specifications over analysis.

 

 

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The famous Harlem Renaissance poets, and others, all have works in full text here.

 

NCLIVE

Twentieth Century American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  A database of 36,000 modern and contemporary American poems from the early twentieth century to the present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Full-text poems from twentieth-century America are here.

 

NCLIVE

Twentieth-Century English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey
Description:  Containing tens of thousands of works by 288 poets, Twentieth-Century English Poetry provides an overview of poetry written in the 20th century by both established and emerging writers.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Full-text poems from the twentieth century are here.

 

NCLIVE
-W-

[ top ]

The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Description:  The financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.  NCWC offers coverage from 1984-present.

NCWC Librarians Say:  The Wall Street Journal, pure and simple.

 

Water: Science and Issues 4v, 2003
Integrates key concepts, current issues, traditional and emerging research, and major legislation in three subject areas: fresh water, marine waters, and policy and management. These topics are complemented by historical overviews, biographical sketches, and career information. Includes color photographs and illustrations, sidebars, and a glossary. Broadly applicable for general readers as well as those wanting a firm academic foundation.

 

NCLIVE

Wiley InterScience via North Carolina Consortium
Description:  The InterScience database contains full text for over 2,500 academic journals, books, and reference works.  Disciplines covered well include business, chemistry, computer science, education, life sciences, and social sciences.

NCWC Librarians Say:  Almost all of the content on Wiley is unique to Wiley, and much of it is very useful.  The fact that books are lined up alongside journal articles makes Wiley quite helpful, particularly for science-related topics.

 

WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch
A union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide.

NCLIVE

©2006 North Carolina Wesleyan College | Elizabeth Braswell Pearsall Library | 3400 N. Wesleyan Blvd., Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-985-5350